10 Ways to Reuse Old Socks

Recycle socks for Earth Day

For Earth Day we thought we’d compile a list of some things you can do with old socks, or for when one sock goes missing. Don’t just toss that lone sock! Add your suggestions in the comments or on our Facebook Fan page.

Recycled Crafts– turn the sock into a sock puppet, bunnies or chicks.

Cleaning– Use old socks for cleaning/dust rags. Put over your hands and get those blinds!

Shine– Polish up shoes or furniture.

Garage– Use old socks to keep grease and oil from getting on surfaces.

Packing– Use as a shoe cover when putting shoes in your suitcase.

Heating pad– Take a sock, fill with rice, tie or sew up the end and use as a rice bag that you heat in the microwave (heat for just a few minutes, microwave times will vary).

Style– Wear mismatched socks! Who says they have to match?

Bottle Cover– Cut the end off the sock and put over the neck of a bottle of cooking oil, or anything else that drips. Or- put the sock on the bottom of kitchen condiments that get messy, like honey.

Fragile– Put glasses, goggles, a camera or anything else that you want to protect in a sock.

Donate– Your local donation store might take old socks to use for various reasons, or check out The Mismatched Sock.

Tell us- what do you do with old socks?

2 responses to “10 Ways to Reuse Old Socks

  1. ladybug_lover100@yahoo.com

    My daughter grew out of all her baby socks and I almost gave them away, but I just couldn’t. I wanted to do something with them. I also wanted to make an advent calender for the 25 days of Christmas, so I decided to use her little socks. I hung them on a string by tiny safety pins across my fireplace. I labeled them each with a different number and put two pieces of chocolate in each one. My son & daughter LOVE looking in a new sock each day up until Christmas for their treat.

  2. Many thanks for such a good website as well as for making the effort to create such a good read.
    I truly enjoyed it. I’ve bookmarked your website and subscribed to your RSS feed so I can keep coming back.

Leave a comment